More About Us

We host an ever-evolving annual meeting.


The workshop has grown out of a series of informal annual meetings started in 1970 by John T. Andrews. The purpose of the early meetings was to give graduate students an opportunity to present their ongoing research, gain experience in public speaking, and obtain feedback from more senior researchers. Subsequent meetings retained this emphasis while simultaneously expanding the contributions of professional researchers. For many years, the National Science Foundation (NSF) has generously supported graduate student participation. Tad Pfeffer (INSTAAR) became the Workshop Director in 2004, followed by Gifford Miller (INSTAAR) in 2013. In recent years, the workshop has included special sessions related to scientists communicating with the public, directly or through the media.

The workshop is is held in Boulder or a nearby city every two years. During alternate years, the workshop is hosted by various academic institutions worldwide, with students supported by NSF and INSTAAR. These institutions obtain additional support from their respective governmental agencies.

46. 2016 Boulder
45. 2015 Bergen, Norway (Bjerknes Centre, U of Bergen)
44. 2014 Boulder
43. 2013 Amherst, Massachusetts (CSRC, Geosciences, UMass Amherst)
42. 2012 Winter Park
41. 2011 Montreal, Canada (GEOTOP, Centre d’études nordiques, UQAM)
40. 2010 Winter Park
39. 2009 Lewiston, Maine (Bates College)
38. 2008 Boulder
37. 2007, Reykyavik, Iceland (U of Iceland)
36. 2006 Boulder
35. 2005, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Earth and Atmos Sciences, U of Alberta).
34. 2004 Boulder
33. 2003, Tromsø, Norway (Norwegian Polar Inst; Dept Geology, U of Tromsø)
32. 2002 Boulder
31. 2001, Amherst, Massachusetts (UMASS Geosciences & Climate System Research Cntr)
30. 2000 Boulder
29. 1999, Seattle, Washington (College of Forest Resources, U of Washington)
28. 1998 Boulder
27. 1997, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (Dept of Geography, U of Ottawa)
26. 1996 Boulder
25. 1995, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada, (Centre d'Etudes Nordiques, U Laval)
24. 1994 Boulder
23. 1993, Columbus, Ohio (Byrd Polar Research Center, Ohio State Univ)
22. 1992 Boulder
21. 1991, Fairbanks, Alaska (Alaska Quaternary Cntr, U of Alaska Museum, U of Alaska)
20. 1990, Tromsø, Norway (Geology, U of Tromso) - two workshops in same year.
19. 1990 Boulder
18. 1989, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada (Geography, U of Lethbridge)
17. 1988 Boulder
16. 1987, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (Boreal Inst for Northern Studies, U of Alberta)
15. 1986 Boulder
14. 1985, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada (Bedford Inst of Oceanography)
13. 1984 Boulder
12. 1983, Amherst, Massachusetts (Dept of Geology & Geography, UMASS)
1-11. 1970 - 1982, Boulder, Colorado (INSTAAR, Univ of Colorado)


Gifford Miller
Workshop Director
Wendy Roth
David Lubinski
Anne Jennings
Sedrick Frazier
Financial Technician

Have some questions? Email us at

Want to see plans for the 2016 Workshop?
Visit the Program page »

Long-Term Supporter

National Science Foundation's
Division of Polar Programs

For many years, NSF helped sponsor student participation in the Workshop.


Long-Term Host and Supporter

Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research

University of Colorado at Boulder

INSTAAR's researchers uncover and communicate processes concerning earth and environmental systems—matters that are becoming ever more urgent as changes in climate and land use are felt worldwide.



Questions? Check our FAQ
or email us at

Supported by
The US National Science Foundation
Division of Polar Programs

Sponsored and
hosted by